Thursday, November 17, 2011

Fourteen Pennsylvania schools awarded Blue Ribbon status

"our failing public schools",,,,,

Fourteen Pennsylvania schools awarded Blue Ribbon status; Principal Karen Daugherty of Rose Tree Elementary School in Media one of seven  honored for outstanding leadership

Education Secretary Celebrates Top Schools and Their Leaders at 2011 National Blue Ribbon Schools Awards Ceremony

Seven principals honored with Terrel H. Bell Awards for outstanding leadership in challenging situations
US Department of education NOVEMBER 15, 2011
U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan today honored 315 schools as the 2011 National Blue Ribbon Schools at an awards luncheon at the Omni Shoreham Hotel in Washington, D.C. The Blue Ribbon School award honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools that have helped close the achievement gap and whose students attain and maintain high academic goals. The schools—266 public and 49 private—are among more than 6,000 that have received the coveted award over the past 29 years.

·                                 2011 Blue Ribbon Schools

There are 14 Pennsylvania schools on the 2011 National Blue Ribbon Schools list:

Aiken Elementary School
881 Greentree Road
Pittsburgh, PA 15220-3400
Principal: Mrs. Bobbi-Ann Barnes

Carbondale Area Elementary School
103 Brooklyn Street
Route 6
Carbondale, PA 18407-2207
Principal: Dr. Paul Kaczmarcik

Case Avenue Elementary School
36 Case Avenue
Sharon, PA 16146-3424
Principal: Ms. Traci Valentino

Central High School
1700 W. Olney Avenue
Philadelphia, PA 19141-1198
Principal: Dr. Sheldon Pavel

Coebourn Elementary School
1 Coebourn Boulevard
Brookhaven, PA 19015-1641
Principal: Dr. Holly Acosta

Corpus Christi Catholic School
920 Sumneytown Pike
Lansdale, PA 19446-0194
Principal: Mrs. Wanda Costello

Forest City Regional Elementary School
100 Susquehanna Street
Forest City, PA 18421-1355
Principal: Mr. Kenneth Swartz

Memorial Elementary School
500 Market Street
Bloomsburg, PA 17815-2134
Principal: Mr. Ryan Moran

Nativity of Our Lord School
585 W. Street Road
Warminster, PA 18974-3292
Principal: Ms. Roselee Maddaloni

New Eagle Elementary School
507 Pugh Road
Wayne, PA 19087-1906
Principal: Ms. Karen Whyte

Northern Bedford County Elementary School
217 NBC Drive
Loysburg, PA 16659-9549
Principal: Ms. Carol Louden

Pleasant Valley Elementary School
250 East McMurray Road
McMurray, PA 15317-2948
Principal: Mr. Michael Fisher

Pocopson Elementary School
1105 Pocopson Road
West Chester, PA 19382-7049
Principal: Dr. Andrew McLaughlin

Rose Tree Elementary School
1101 First Avenue
Media, PA 19063-1206
Principal: Ms. Karen Daugherty

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.